India ‘told lies’ over mankad
England skipper blasts India after a batter was controversially run out to end a game | WATCH
The England captain Heather Knight has accused India of lying over giving warnings to Charlie Dean before controversially running out the non-striker as she backed up, handing victory to the tourists in the third one-day international at Lord’s.
Deepti Sharma, the off spinner who stopped during her delivery stride to take off the bails with the England No 9 out of her crease to complete a 3-0 series win, told reporters on arrival back in India yesterday that Dean was repeatedly warned after straying out of her crease several times.
However, Knight posted on social media: “The game is over, Charlie was dismissed legitimately. India were deserved winners of the match and the series. But no warnings were given. They don’t need to be given, so it hasn’t made the dismissal any less legitimate. But if they’re comfortable with the decision to effect the run-out, India shouldn’t feel the need to justify it by lying about warnings.”
Aaron Chown/PAKnight has accused India of lying about warning Dean not to stray out her crease
Dean threw down her bat and was left in tears after being dismissed. Footage from the match showed her frequently straying out of her crease but it is understood she told Knight, who is recovering from hip surgery and did not play in the match, that India did not warn her. Sharma had said: “It was a plan because we had warned her repeatedly. We did things as per the rules and guidelines. We told the umpires as well, but she was there [outside the crease]. We couldn’t do much.”
There is no requirement within the laws to give a warning to a non-striker who is out of their crease before running them out. The dismissal is often referred to as a mankad, named after Vinoo mankad, the India all-rounder, who ran out Bill Brown in 1947. MCC has defended India’s actions and said the officiating was adhered to correctly, and that Dean was legitimately run out.
MCC, the custodian of the laws, said that although it was an “unusual” finish to the match, the laws were applied correctly and urged all batters at the non-striker’s end to stay in their crease until they see that the ball has been released.
The ICC, as a matter of policy, does not comment on individual decisions made in a game and will not comment on whether it was told about or heard of warnings given to Dean.
The Times
To join the conversation, please log in. Don't have an account? Register
Join the conversation, you are commenting as Logout