‘That stinks’: Rabbitohs rewarded after ‘embarrassing’ ruling
The Rabbitohs were bizarrely rewarded after a ruling that was labelled “embarrassing” by Fox League commentator Andrew Voss.
NRL
Don't miss out on the headlines from NRL. Followed categories will be added to My News.
The Rabbitohs were awarded a turnover labelled “embarrassing” by Fox League’s Andrew Voss, after a Cowboys bomb went out after Taane Milne was “hit in the head” on Saturday night.
North Queensland playmaker Chad Townsend put a bomb up, with Souths guns Latrell Mitchell and Campbell Graham backing away — thinking their teammate would be readying to catch the ball.
But, in bizarre scenes as the scores sat 14-6 in Souths favour, Milne didn’t even look up, with the kick striking the Rabbitohs centre’s head as Mitchell raised his arms in confusion.
Stream every game of every round of the 2022 NRL Telstra Premiership Season Live & Ad-Break Free During Play on Kayo. New to Kayo? Start your free trial now >
Referee Gerard Sutton ruled the ball wasn’t played at and that Jason Demetriou’s side would be awarded a turnover, but the Cowboys challenged the ruling.
“That to me has got to be played at, if you don’t know where the ball is, and it hits you in the back of the head and goes over the sideline, it should be the Cowboys feed,” Andrew Voss said.
“Taane Milne has been hit in the head.”
“But as the rule stands, was he playing at the ball... he has got no idea where it is,” Fox league’s Greg Alexander said.
Voss was astounded the Cowboys would be awarded the ball, even when the Rabbitohs player had no idea where the kick was landing and was falconed.
“It is embarrassing if you say he hasn’t played at it,” Voss said.
“You can’t be rewarded for this, watch it... Cowboys should have it.”
Bunker referee Adam Gee ruled Milne didn’t play at the ball, and Voss was clearly displeased, making his view of the ruling clear.
“Taane Milne is not playing at the ball, and the ball goes into touch, challenge is unsuccessful,” Gee said.
“That stinks,” Voss said.
“I am not going to say I agree with it, but how it stands, as the rule stands,” Alexander said.
Originally published as ‘That stinks’: Rabbitohs rewarded after ‘embarrassing’ ruling