NewsBite

Dragons coach Shane Flanagan escapes sanction for post-game outburst aimed at officiating

The NRL have backed their match officials over two contentious calls that raised the ire of St George Illawarra coach Shane Flanagan in his post-game press conference.

The NRL have backed their match officials over two contentious calls that raised the ire of St George Illawarra coach Shane Flanagan during his side’s nail-biting loss to the Bulldogs at the weekend.

Flanagan was seething after his side’s narrow defeat at Accor Stadium, pointing the finger squarely at some contentious decisions in the dying stages of the match that he claimed cost his side the two points.

The NRL took a different view after reviewing the incidents on Monday morning, insisting that they were comfortable with the calls that were made.

The good news for the Dragons is that Flanagan won’t face any sanction over his comments, although that is cold comfort for the St George Illawarra coach given his side suffered another heartbreaking defeat which left them close to the bottom than the top eight.

Flanagan questioned a decision to penalise Dragons back rower Luciano Leilua over a ruck infringement, describing the call as “outrageous” after claiming that Bulldogs winger Jacob Kiraz had incorrectly planted the ball.

The NRL watched the footage and came to the conclusion that Leilua had interfered with Kiraz by placing his hand on the Bulldogs winger as he attempted to regain his feet.

They were also of the view that the ball had not been planted because Leilua’s foot had got in the way. The second decision involved a pass from Viliame Kikau which Flanagan claimed had been knocked on.

“Ever since 100 years, that’s a knock-on and that was at the 78-minute mark,” Flanagan said.

Again, the NRL reviewed the footage and backed the decision made by their match officials including the touch judge, who insisted that the ball had been legally tipped on.

The NRL also backed the decision to award a try to Cronulla second rower Billy Burns in the Sharks win over the Sydney Roosters - Roosters coach Trent Robinson claimed it was a double movement because Spencer Leniu looked to have a hand on Burns before he scored.

The NRL took the view that Burns had busted the tackle and was therefore able to go again.

Originally published as Dragons coach Shane Flanagan escapes sanction for post-game outburst aimed at officiating

Add your comment to this story

To join the conversation, please Don't have an account? Register

Join the conversation, you are commenting as Logout

Original URL: https://www.thechronicle.com.au/sport/nrl/dragons-coach-shane-flanagan-escapes-sanction-for-postgame-outburst-aimed-at-officiating/news-story/c1b6f602d27a0527b3c938de15730e2f