Wallabies slam non-call as great explodes at Lions robbery
The Wallabies will demand an explanation from World Rugby as a former star explodes on the controversial decision that cost Australia Test victory over the British & Irish Lions.
The Wallabies have slammed the decision by referees not to penalise Jac Morgan for the high cleanout on Carlo Tizzano that cost them the series, and will formally seek answers from World Rugby over a play described by Lions coach Andy Farrell as “brilliant”.
The ill feeling between the two camps is certain to grow this week as the fallout of the controversial call grows, and they could not be further apart in their judgment of the cleanout in the 80th minute that led to the match-winning try by Hugo Keenan.
Wallabies coach Joe Schmidt rarely shows emotion, but his frustration was palpable after the 29-26 loss at the MCG.
“Everyone can make their own decision on that, you just have to read law 9.20, and I guess you just have to listen to the description from the referee, and then watch the vision,” Schmidt said.
“When two players are described as arriving at the same time, just watch the footage.
“Our perspective is, we felt it was a decision that doesn’t really live up to the big player safety push that they’re talking about. You cannot hit someone above the level of the shoulders, and there’s no binding with the left arm, the hands on the ground.
“So that’s what we’ve seen, and we’ve watched a number of replays from different angles, and so it is what it is. We just have to accept it.”
Australian captain Harry Wilson argued with referee Andrea Piardi at length after Keenan’s try, and television match official Eric Gauzens reviewed the incident before they jointly decided Morgan had not made high contact with Tizzano, who had reeled backwards from the ruck clutching his head.
“Obviously I saw a shoulder to the neck, Carlo was pretty sore after it,” Wilson said.
But Farrell saw nothing wrong with the incident.
“I thought it was a brilliant clearout,” Farrell said.
“Honestly, I mean it depends which side of the fence you come from. I can understand people’s opinions, but I thought Jac was brilliant when he came on and so were the rest of the bench.”
Farrell added: “I thought it was a good clearout live, I couldn’t understand what they were going back for, they seem to go back for everything these days.
“I’m pleased that the referee held his nerve, it was the right decision in my opinion.”
Lions captain Maro Itjoe gave his version of events speaking to the officials across from rival Wilson about the cleanout.
“Naturally their captain was trying to get their point across and in my view argue for something that didn’t happen, and I was arguing for something that did happen,” Itoje said.
“Fortunately Jac was accurate with his action.”
But Schmidt will seek an explanation from the governing body, given the law is clear around head and neck contact.
“You only have to look at law 9.20, it’s what they’re there to enforce, a player who dives off his feet, is clearly beaten to the position over the ball, makes neck contact,” Schmidt said.
“It was a tough one to take.”
Schmidt also had concerns about the Lions’ first try, when hooker Dan Sheehan dove over Wallabies defenders at the line to score.
“Probably one of the things World Rugby are trying to make sure that we’re tackling lower, and so we had two tacklers going in to tackle low, and he dived and scored,” Schmidt said.
“I can see according to law how that can be just diving and scoring. It’s illegal to jump the tackle, but he dived over.
“I guess what it now challenges World Rugby to do is okay, if we get two guys going in to go low, and a guy dives over like that, he’s pretty much head first. So what do we do to stop him scoring, apart from stopping his head? Because there’s not much else you can do.
“I feel for the players because they get backed into a bit of a corner around head contact, and it’s such a taboo subject, and we’re trying to make the game safer.
“I suppose that’s why in contrast you’ve got Dan diving over to score, and in all the laws it’s head or neck contact. So you’ve got a contrast there that I guess we’ll look back at and ask some questions on.”
TURINUI DEMANDS EXPLANATION
Former Wallaby Morgan Turinui has demanded an explanation from World Rugby on the controversial decision that cost Australia Test victory over the British & Irish Lions.
In a bitter aftermath to an incredible second Test at the MCG, Turinui was among the dumbfounded former players who simply could not believe referee Andrea Piardi and television match official Eric Gauzens ruled no head contact on Jac Morgan’s cleanout of Carlo Tizzano in the lead-up to the match-winning try in the 79th minute.
While the former England World Cup-winning captain Martin Johnson was predictably backing the referee’s decision, Turinui was adamant the officials were too weak to make a correct call in the moment.
“That decision is 100% completely wrong. The referee got it wrong,” Turinui said.
“His two assistant referees got it wrong.
“Joel Jutke, the head of the referees, is out here on a junket. He needs to haul those referees in and ask for a please explain.
“Dan Herbert, the chair of Australian rugby and if I’m Phil Waugh the CEO, I’m sorry I’m asking for a please explain.
“He did have a good game, but the refereeing group, when it counted, got the match defining decision completely wrong.
“It’s a point of law. It’s in black and white. It’s not about bias. It’s not about colouring. “There’s nothing there. Get away from the fact it’s a wrong call. It’s a penalty sanction. It’s not a yellow card. It happens.
”The try must be disallowed and we should be going one-all to Sydney.”
Wallabies coach Joe Schmidt was astounded there was no penalty for high contact.
“I couldn’t quite believe that we didn’t get a decision at the end,” he said.
“But, you know, that’s the wicked backlash that sport can have sometimes.
“I think it was described as arriving at the same time. And we can all see that’s not the case. And we can all see clear contact with the back of the neck.
“You know, might be a different decision on another day and another time.
“I’ve been gutted a few times in my coaching career, but that is right up there.
“I felt we earned more than what we got.”
To join the conversation, please log in. Don't have an account? Register
Join the conversation, you are commenting as Logout