‘Not acceptable’: Bunker controversy in high-scoring NRL thriller
Another game, another bunker controversy as the Cronulla Sharks got on the board with a dramatic blunder that had fans and commentators fuming.
The Cronulla Sharks and St George Illawarra have turned out a high scoring thriller after the first half of their clash at Netstrata Jubilee Stadium.
Despite rain around, the teams put on some razzle dazzle as the scoreline was 22-14 at the break.
Kayo is your ticket to the 2020 NRL Telstra Premiership. Every game of every round Live & On-Demand with no-ad breaks during play. New to Kayo? Get your 14-day free trial & start streaming instantly >
Some sparkling tries were put on as the sides entertained the crowd braving the elements.
But while the Dragons started strong with an early try, but after 10 minutes, the Sharks hit back with Chad Townsend putting a grubber behind the line with a ricochet causing Dragons fullback Matt Dufty to slip over.
As he dived for the ball, it appeared as though he ground the ball in the in-goal with video referee Ben Galea ruling that Jack Williams “grounds the ball in the in-goal”.
But the commentators weren’t so sure with Dan Ginnane second guessing the call.
“Geez, I’ve got my glasses on … (the bunker ref) has got better eyes than me,” Steve Roach said in Fox League commentary.
“I reckon Dufty’s hand was on the ball before. If they’ve pushed the ball down at exactly the same time and his hand got there first … it looked like Dufty grounded the footy to me.”
After they watched it again as the conversion was kicked, Roach said “he’s got there first Dufty.”
“This is an incredible call,” Ginnane added.
“That’s the wrong call isn’t it guys,” Corey Parker said. “I mean Dufty’s hand clearly comes over the end of the ball there and puts it down.”
Roach added: “That’s a bad one.”
WATCH IN THE VIDEO PLAYER ABOVE
The fans agreed that it wasn’t a good look.
How can you get that wrong! Do we need a freaking 4th ref for @NRL #Dufty clearly grounded the ball! @NRL_Dragons Not acceptable #NRLSharksDragons
— Kris Fade (@krisfade) July 25, 2020
Jack Williams snubbed every celebration with his teammates. He knew he didnât score #NRLSharksDragons
— Martin Gabor (@MartinJGabor) July 25, 2020
Was that a try? Why didn't Dufty make more of an effort to convince the refs he got there and sell it? #NRLSharksDragons
— Tim Barrow (@TheBarrow) July 25, 2020
Could be wrong but I reckon even Williams got up shaking his head there. Didnât look confident. #NRLSharksDragons
— Scott Bailey (@ScottBaileyAAP) July 25, 2020
Five minutes later, it looked like the Sharks were about to go 12-6 up with Jesse Ramien cutting through the defence.
But he ran between his teammates, with three Dragons defenders getting beaten in the tackle.
“I don’t think anyone is really impeded, they get fair grabs on him twice, three times, that’s a try,” Roach said.
Only it wasn’t with the bunker confirming the obstruction.
While this was less clear cut with the obstruction rule running amok in 2020, it’s been a talking point for weeks.
“No, no, no — honestly, he beat three blokes who could have made the tackle on them, they should have been looking at that,” Roach said.
The sides then flexed their try scoring muscles, trading six tries in an entertaining opening half as the Sharks led 22-14.